© 2019 by Ali Standish

Bad Bella

"Bella, Bella, Bella!  A wonderful, funny, heartfelt tale of a very good “bad” dog, and her enduring quest for that thing we all seek:  a place to call home.  I loved this book!  I love Bella!”

-Garth Stein

NY Times bestselling author of The Art of Racing in the Rain

Perfect for fans of The Art of Racing in the Rain and Because of Winn Dixie! Ali Standish, author of the award-winning The Ethan I Was Before and August Isle, delivers a tale of one extraordinary pup’s search for family, inspired by her real-life rescue dog Bella.
 

Bella is the very best dog a family could ask for. Only her family, the McBrides, don’t see it that way. Ever since Mrs. McBride’s belly started growing, they don’t seem to appreciate the way Bella cleans the crumbs from the kitchen floor or how she’s always willing to play fetch after a long day. And when Bella’s valiant attempt to save the Christmas tree ends in disaster, she finds herself being swiftly abandoned at the pound.

 

As the reality sinks in, Bella is heartbroken. Where did she go wrong? Things look bleak until a kind couple, the Roses, take Bella in. Her new life is filled with wonderful things like parks and snowballs, vanilla ice cream and the National Geographic Channel. But as the weather turns cold again, the Roses start acting strangely and Bella wonders if she can really trust them. Do they actually love her, or is history about to repeat itself? And will Bella be able to find a true home in time for Christmas this year? 

BadBella cvr c.jpg

Cover Art by Melissa Manwill

You can see more of her work here.

Bad Bella has everything I love: family, hope, and—of course—dogs. It’s the perfect companion, just like Bella herself.” —Carlie Sorosiak, author of I, COSMO.

 

“Bella’s charming story is both heart-wrenching and heartwarming, or as Bella would say, it’ll make your heart “thump and ache at the same time.” As we follow Bella though her adventurous misunderstandings, we see there are no bad dogs, only dogs that haven’t yet discovered the true meaning of family - those who love you no matter what. You’ll want Bad Bella!” —Kristin Tubb, author of A DOG LIKE DAISY

 

"Bad Bella is an utterly charming tale of a good dog and the power of second chances and unconditional love." -Bobbie Pyron, author of A Dog’s Way Home

 

"Bella sneaks right up and takes your heart on a sad and funny joy ride. Prepare to love her at page one. Hooray for rescue dogs and all the love they bring us!" -Jane Paley, author of Hooper Finds a Family

  • Indiebound
  • Limav-Flat-Gradient-Social-Goodreads
  • Uiconstock-Socialmedia-Amazon
  • ali fb thumbnail